Brown soda bread – yum!

 

I am absolutely terrified of rising yeast and bread makers! I always feel like I will fail at making a yeast rising bread so I tend to skirt away from making them.. I’m sure it is pretty easy and takes some getting used.. so with practice I am sure I can do it.. I’m probably too much of a chicken to try right now… Though a recipe for “friendship bread” is slowly making me warm up to the idea… (I had a slice of this friendship bread from Beth’s Cafe.. Yeah that one place with the 12-egg omelet and I have been hooked ever since! )

I am also a lover of soda bread. The dense texture.. the nutty flavor.. How could one go wrong? Slather some of that Kerry Irish butter on there and you are golden! mmmm..

Some wonderful friends were hosting a game night that fell near St. Patricks day so they were making some awesome homemade brisket and cabbage… so, to contribute to the theme, I decided to make some Brown Soda Bread.. Maaan that was the best smell ever in that kitchen!

I’ve made this bread quite a few times already and it hasn’t failed me once! Thought I would share in case anyone wanted to try their luck with a no-rise bread recipe πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

Ingredients

2 cups (10 ounces) all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups (8 1/4 ounces) whole-wheat flour
1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
3 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 3/4 cups buttermilk
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Instructions

1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and heat oven to 400 degrees. Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Whisk all-purpose flour, whole-wheat flour, wheat germ, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda together in large bowl. Combine buttermilk and 2 tablespoons melted butter in 2-cup liquid measuring cup.

2. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir with rubber spatula until dough just comes together. Turn out dough onto lightly floured counter and knead until cohesive mass forms, about 8 turns. Pat dough into 7-inch round and transfer to prepared sheet. Using sharp serrated knife, make ΒΌ-inch-deep cross about 5 inches long on top of loaf. Bake until skewer inserted in center comes out clean and loaf registers 195 degrees, 45 to 50 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through baking.

3. Remove bread from oven. Brush with remaining 1 tablespoon melted butter. Transfer loaf to wire rack and let cool for at least 1 hour. Serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

